What are the top priorities of the executives of the target company?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Andre Hamilton 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

mikep.mclean
    Participant

I am new to the M&A universe which is why I’m taking this course, just to learn more about the process. During a recent discussion I was having at work someone asked me a question that I couldn’t answer with any sense of confidence. I’m wondering what are the primary concerns for the executives of a target company during due diligence period and beyond.

Looking forward to the different perspectives.

jimyerxa
    Participant

I opine the top concern is their future employment. With M&A the target executives often feel second-best, for they were bought. As well lack of knowledge of what is happening can lead to concern and even to behaviour that can jeopardize value. As such communication and openness is key to success.

Seun Yakub
    Participant

Hi mikep.mclean,

In my opinion the role of management is always to maximise long term shareholder value. This is what should be at the forefront of the thinking constantly. In the way they run the company and even in the way they sell the company.

If an acquirer comes along with a proposal to buy the company its important that the management can well judge the likelihood of a transaction be consummated, this is critical as otherwise the target may spend fees on a transaction that will never happen and end up giving away some of their private information. In other to prevent the target’s time being wasted and to disincentivise not completing the transaction, the targets management can suggest a break up fee early in discussions.

If the acquirer is serious about the deal then the management of the target should be interested in getting the best deal possible for the company, whether than be in shares or cash.