Project Management for PMI

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    James Elding
    Participant

I am a practicing Project Manager certified by the Project Management Institute. I have been noticing that there are a number of commonly used project measures missing from M&A projects. For example, I have not been on a deal to date that uses measures like Earned Value, Schedule Performance Index, and Cost Performance Index that measures that efficiency of the project malmanagement. Wondering if there are good reasons for this in the domain of M&A?

Srrah Algheithy
    Participant

I think the main reason would be to ensure that the post merger integration takes place within a set time and allocated resources instead of it dragging on endlessly for years after the merger. Furthermore, when it is addressed as a project with a dedicated team it ensures that the PMI activities do not divert from the attention of the company’s core activities such as sales and operations.

Michele Learn
    Participant

I agree that M&A projects could benefit from the use of PMI methods and techniques. It would likely be up to those within the PMI professional body who have opportunities to work on M&A projects to try to bring these best practices forward where possible and where the use those tools and methods make sense in the context of the project.