Have you seen any M&A deals follow a “text book” pattern?

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Karen Mildenhall
    Participant

When I was new to the M&A world, I studied information from various experts in the M&A field. Since then and many M&As later, I haven’t seen ANY that follow a standard process. I think it is because of the human factor. What do you think?

Yanxuan Yang
    Participant

I think every M&A transaction is a unique one. The “text book” pattern is described by M&A professionals based on the many M&A cases that they have experienced and hence serves as a very generic reference for a typical M&A process. Even transactions that are similar in many aspects will definitely have something different from the rest.

Karen Mildenhall
    Participant

Yanxuan, great insight. Thank you!

Po Huang
    Participant

I think it’s difficult for the M&A deals following a text book pattern as each deal is unique and there are a lot of factors to consider. I think following the text book pattern might not always be the most effective and efficient way to close the deal. I would refer the text book pattern as a reference but not necessary to follow each step. Thanks.

Amanda Broos
    Participant

I agree it would be difficult for M&A to follow a textbook approach, but in the the deals I’ve participated in, the level of experience and expertise is limited. For example, in the integrations I’ve participated in, the IMO lead and key team members don’t have specific credentials or training related to M&A. It surprises me given the stakes are so high, but typically its a well regarded internal leader at mid to senior level with good knowledge of the acquiring business and culture with some project management skill. I would think that formal training and credentials would be a requirement to lead such important work, or to be a decision maker in the purchase decision.

Karen Mildenhall
    Participant