Is it possible to get a first job in M&A in mid-30 years old?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Alexandre Hugel
    Participant

My question is quite basic … if you have 10-15 years of experience in various areas, could you start a new career in M&A in your late 30s?

Nathan Komorowski
    Participant

I got involved in M&A activities in 2015 after 6 years in various areas. After a few more M&A processes, we have developed a M&A team where I am a PMI Manager since 2021 when I was just hitting my mid thirties and 12 years in my company.

Hello Alexandre:

I don’t see why not if you have project management and change management experience from your previous roles and if you don’t, you can learn.

Alexandra
    Participant

I would agree with responses above. You can definitely start M&A career in your mid-thirties. Your previous experience (if relevant to M&A or at least to the business industry of potential acquisitions) can be very beneficial as it’d mean you are well-versed in different areas, and in my experience, this is extremely helpful in M&A

I believe the age is not a limiting factor at all. The age and experiences in different areas is a great value for each company.
    A person who is always learning, developing skills, changing roles, showing ambition, contributing to the results? What do you need more? It is a perfect candidate for eny job, not only M&A. Head of Department, M&A, Project Management, deep dive expert…all the roles are possible. Just follow your interest.

Clarence Yeo
    Participant