Failure in Day 1 planning & PMI

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Megumi Hida
    Participant

As a consultant, I have seen many failures in day 1 planning and post merger integration.

There was this organization who was slow in building post-deal business strategy and target operating model. This led to the delay in appointing leadership positions and workforce planning. As a result, employees were not certain about their future job scope, mission and treatment. Most of the key talent and high performers left to join competitors before the close.

Please share your experience with failures and missed opportunities.

Michael Fortunato
    Participant

I don’t have direct experience except for the fact that I have consulted at many large organizations where the remnants of unfulfilled mergers exist. The environment will exhibit the classic separation of cultures and the types of tension and inefficiencies that that always brings.

Veronica R
    Participant

Day one is a whirlwind of communication and activity and actions speak louder than words.
    Here’s some great day one activities I have witnessed which led to success and drove the key talking points home.
    The CEOs of both organizations gave a town hall to the target company. Key leaders of the acquiring company came to the HQ of the target to participate in the in person and to meet some employees.
    Consistent message about what is and isn’t changing and wht why behind the acqusition.
    The following week was full of departmental office hours available to all employees so that they could hear how their fellow colleagues are feeling and what they’re expected to change. Some leaders were even leading those sessions from new HQ to show unity.
    Lots of updated FAQs and realtime FAQs with leaders willing to be vulnerable and say what they don’t know.

Anita Davis
    Participant